Southfield Redevelopment Authority (SRA) Board of Directors Abington Town Hall 500 Gliniewicz Way, Abington, MA Monday, September 18, 2023 at 6:00pm

Directors Present: Tom Henderson, Chairman

David Rubin, Vice-Chairman

Pat O'Leary, Clerk

Kelli O'Brien-McKinnon

Monica Horan Roger Woods, Jr. Chris Primiano

Not Present: Bob Rizzi

Joe Gratta

Also Present: Jim Young, Land Use Administrator

Chairman Hughes, of the Abington Planning Board, called the meeting and public hearing to order at 6:00pm.

Chairman Henderson introduced the members of Southfield Redevelopment Authority.

VOTED: Motion of Roger Woods, seconded by Kelli O'Brien-McKinnon, to open the joint public hearing.

7-0 unanimous vote

6:00 P.M. PUBLIC HEARING

Joint public hearing with the Abington Planning Board to consider a request for (i) an Amendment to and Restatement of the Zoning and Land Use By-Laws and Map for NAS South Weymouth and (ii) an Amendment to the Abington Zoning Bylaw and Map.

Chairman Hughes read the public notice.

John Twohig, New England Development, gave background on the company and provided information on different projects that have been built.

Representatives from BPD Union Point, led by Mr. John Twohig of New England Development, provided an overall project status update, and discussed the proposed master plan as well as the proposed amendments to the zoning and land use by-laws and map for the former NAS South Weymouth.

Abington Planning Board members asked questions of Mr. Twohig.

Public Comments

Several members of the public spoke, asking questions regarding the impact of the project and future zoning changes.

Abington Selectman Kevin Donovan spoke in favor of the zoning amendments.

VOTED: Motion of Kelli O'Brien-McKinnon, seconded by Chris Primiano, to close the public hearing.

7-0 Unanimous vote

Topics Not Reasonably Anticipated by the Chairman 48 hours before the Meeting: none

Adjournment:

VOTED: Motion of Kelli O'Brien-McKinnon, seconded by Dave Rubin, to close the public hearing and adjourn at 8:30pm
7-0 unanimous vote

Patricia Fitzgerald, Recording Secretary	Tom Henderson, Chairman